The Little Stranger The Night Watch Fingersmith by Sarah Waters Affinity by Sarah Waters Tipping The Velvet by Sarah Waters

Welcome to

This is the official website of Sarah Waters, the award-winning, bestselling author of five novels to-date: Tipping the Velvet, Affinity, Fingersmith, The Night Watch and her latest title, The Little Stranger.

The site contains plenty of information about the author and her books as well as various extras, including videos and photos. The news section is updated by Sarah's UK publisher, Virago.

Latest News and Updates

Sarah Waters – London event announced

Stylist Exclusive Event – Thursday 28th August

Stylist Book Club in association with Virago are delighted to present an evening with Sarah Waters, held in the Grand Ballroom at The Rosewood Hotel ( The Rosewood Hotel is the former headquarters of Pearl Assurance, and co-incidentally is the very building where Sarah’s character Leonard works in The Paying Guests, and is next door to the site of the old Holborn Empire, where her characters Frances and Christina venture together for an afternoon at the music hall.

For tickets to this exclusive event visit

Ticket-holders will receive a limited edition, not-for-sale copy of The Paying Guests before the event and a signed first edition of the hardback on the night, plus the opportunity to hear Sarah in conversation with Stylist Publisher, Glenda Marchant.

The Frozen Scream: A play co-written by Sarah Waters and Christopher Green

Based on the lost 1928 supernatural murder-mystery novel, The Frozen Scream tells the chilling tale of a group who find themselves stranded at an abandoned lodge in the depths of winter. Forced to entertain themselves, they begin to tell the tale of Jack Frost, the most terrifying of the Frost Giants. But as the story takes a shocking twist, they discover they should have heeded the early warnings to ‘beware the ice’.

Surrounded by mystery and intrigue, the original novel was quick to receive critical acclaim but fell out of favour when a series of mysterious deaths led to the belief that the novel was cursed. Undeterred by these conspiracy theories, Olivier-award winning entertainer Christopher Green (Tina C, Ida Barr, Office Party) and one of the UK's best-selling novelists, Sarah Waters (Tipping the Velvet, The Little Stranger) bring this largely unread work to the stage in an adaptation that will send shivers down your spine this winter. But is everything as it seems?

Dec 2014 / Wales Millennium Centre tickets:

Jan 2015 / Birmingham Hippodrome tickets:

Sarah Waters – The Paying Guests – tour dates

Monday 25th August

An evening with Sarah Waters, Edinburgh International Book Festival, 8-9pm
Location: Baillie Gifford Main Theatre, Charlotte Square, Edinburgh
Ticket price: £10.00, £8.00
Link to buy tickets:
Tickets go on sale at 8:30am on Tuesday 24 June

Tuesday 26th August

An evening with Sarah Waters in association with Waterstones, 7pm
Location: Merchant Taylors Hall, Aldwark, York, North Yorkshire YO1 7BX
Ticket price: £6
Link to buy tickets:
Or available from Waterstones York: 01904 620784

Wednesday 27th August

An evening with Sarah Waters in association with Chepstow Books, Monmouthshire, 7:30pm
Location: The Drill Hall, Chepstow House, 50 Alexandra Rd, Newport, NP20 2JF
Ticket price: £3 (redeemable against a copy of The Paying Guests)
Link to buy tickets: or call 01291 625011

Thursday 28th August

Details will be announced on July 29th at 3pm

Monday 1st September

An evening with Sarah Waters in association with Waterstones, 7pm
Location: Sillitoe Room, Waterstones, 1/5 Bridlesmith Gate, Nottingham, NG1 2GR
Link to buy tickets: or call Waterstones Nottingham: 0115 947 0069

Tuesday 2nd September

An evening with Sarah Waters in association with Blackwell’s
Location: Divinity Hall, The Bodleian, Broad Street, Oxford, OX1 3BG
Tickets: £20 which includes entry to the prestigious Divinity School at The Bodleian, in Oxford, and a copy of The Paying Guests.
To buy tickets: You can purchase them from the customer service desk in the Norrington Room, or call Blackwell's Oxford: 01865 333623. Alternatively, email

Wednesday 3rd September

An evening with Sarah Waters in association with Mr B's Emporium of Reading Delights, 7pm
Location: Bath Central United Reform Church, Argyle Street, Bath, BA2 4BA
Tickets: £8, with £5 redeemable against a copy of The Paying Guests
To buy tickets: call 01225 331155, email, or visit the shop at 14-15 John Street, Bath, BA1 2JL.

Thursday 4th September

An evening with Sarah Waters in association with Waterstones, 7pm
Location: Brympton D'Evercy, Yeovil, Somerset, BA22 8TD
Ticket: £6, redeemable against a copy of The Paying Guests
Link to buy:, or call Waterstones in Yeovil: 01935 479832.